‹ 主頁

LEVI’S® VINTAGE CLOTHING 2022 秋冬

Make It Yours
Levi’s Vintage 復古系列: Blue Daze - Levi's 香港

全新Levi’s® Vintage 復古系列- Blue Daze,向 50 年代尾至 60 年代初的黑人爵士樂手致敬,他們徹底改變了音樂、爵士樂以及全世界。設計總監 Paul O'Neill 帶我們了解更多背後故事。

身穿Levi's Blue Daze 服裝系列的兩位男士 - Levi's 香港

靈感

“大約在 1959 年,一系列唱片發行,其中爵士樂家一改表達自己的音樂常態,從此改變我們的看法。你聽說過迷幻搖滾樂隊的長時間即興演奏,但你沒有聽說過,他們是受到了這群樂手的啟發。

另外,他們的造型很時尚!說到他們的風格時,大家最先會想起西裝,而不是Levi's®,但當你仔細觀察時,他們也穿著 Levi's® 當時生產的休閒服,例如我們的 Sta- Prest® 褲子和扣鈕恤衫。而且他們在練習或錄製唱片時,都穿著牛仔褲。”

“看到這群音樂家在舞台或為唱片封套拍攝以外時的穿搭,就是最大啟發。”

— PAUL O'NEILL,LEVI'S® VINTAGE CLOTHING 設計總監

服飾

“Blue Daze系列專注於以藍色和大地色調的一針一線製作,以及受到時代藝術圖案的啟發:格紋、直間、複雜形狀、大膽用色。 搶眼,就是50 年代後期的流行風格,例如超大碼的千鳥格及14紋燈芯絨布。 Levi's® 1920 年代的氣球寬闊牛仔褲非常前衛——基本上是一種高腰褲款式,就像一條闊腳斜紋布褲,但採用非常輕盈的牛仔布。

還有 1960 年代的 Sta-Prest® Jags,這是任你清洗 30 次,仍然絲毫無損的想法。 Sta-Prest® 是 Levi's® 於 1964 年開創的重大系列。清爽型格的常春藤聯盟風格,令這系列在大學生市場中取得了巨大成功,而且在英國也大受歡迎。時至今天,在某些次文化當中,Sta-Prest® 褲子仍備受追

身穿Levi's Blue Daze 系列衣服的男模特兒 - Levi's 香港

“幾秒鐘之間,聽起來...一切都變得很美妙。這對我們來說非常神奇。”

— PAUL O'NEILL,LEVI'S® VINTAGE CLOTHING 設計總監

Levi's Blue Daze: 坐在沙發上的女士與正在彈奏爵士音樂的兩位音樂家 - Levi's 香港

選角

“在 Covid 之前,我們會花一星期的時間,在城市找尋合適拍攝的人,因為我們總是使用場景中真實的人物。當我們拍攝1920 年代拳擊手的系列時,我們用上了業餘拳擊手,如果你將模特兒放在擂台上,他只會是模特兒而不會像拳擊手,所以我們必須由爵士樂家演繹爵士樂家。

關於 Blue Daze系列,我們在紐約找到一個小型爵士樂場地,並取得一些人脈聯繫,事情就這樣開展了。短時間內,我們擁有了一個由一群嶄露頭角的爵士樂家所組成的龐大網絡。以往我們會在紐約與他們見面交流及拍攝,但這次所有準備工作都是在線上進行。”

拍攝

“我們在一個著名的錄音室拍攝,幾乎所有50至70 年代的標誌性爵士樂唱片都在這裡錄製。起初,經驗豐富的工作人員抱有懷疑,認為在這裡能拍出時尚的感覺嗎?但當樂手們開始即興創作,事情便變得很振奮,很鼓舞。

當中有一兩位樂手曾經合作演奏過,但大多數人都是初見面。當有樂手開始演奏,其他人都慢慢加入合奏。就在幾秒鐘之間,音樂聽起來都十分美妙。他們有經驗的樂手,而且互相閱讀、配合,一起創作。對我們來說,這真是神奇的體驗。”

Levi’s® Vintage Clothing Blue Haze 系列現於Levi’s® 新港中心及官方網店發售。

身穿Levi's Blue Daze 服裝系列的兩位男士 - Levi's 香港

‹ Home

LEVI’S® VINTAGE CLOTHING: FALL/WINTER 2022

Make It Yours
Levi's® HK

Levi’s® Vintage Clothing’s new collection, Blue Daze, is an homage to the Black jazz musicians of the late ’50s and early ’60s who revolutionized music, jazz—and the world—forever. Design Director Paul O’Neill takes us behind the scenes.

Levi's® HK

THE INSPIRATION

“Around 1959, a series of records came out in which jazz musicians rejected musical norms for personal expression, forever changing how things were perceived. You hear about psychedelic rock bands improvising long jams, but what you don’t hear is that they were inspired by these musicians.

Also, you know, they looked great! People don't immediately think of Levi's® when they think of their style—they think of suits—but when you look closer, they were also dressed in the kind of casual wear that Levi's® was producing at the time, like our Sta-Prest® trousers and button-up shirts. In many archival images where they’re practicing or recording, they're wearing jeans.”

“IT WAS INSPIRING TO SEE HOW THESE MUSICIANS DRESSED WHEN THEY WEREN’T ONSTAGE OR BEING PHOTOGRAPHED FOR A RECORD SLEEVE.”

—PAUL O’NEILL, DESIGN DIRECTOR, LEVI’S® VINTAGE CLOTHING

THE CLOTHES

“Blue Daze focuses on Stitch-for-Stitch reproductions in shades of blue and earthy tones, and patterns inspired by the art of the times—harlequin, vertical stripes, intricate shapes, bold color blocking. Styles that were big in the late ’50s. Oversized houndstooth, 14-wale corduroy. The Levi’s® 1920s balloon Jeans are really cool—basically a trouser style with a high waist, like a really wide-leg chino but in a very lightweight denim.

And the 1960s Sta-Prest® Jags. The idea is that you should be able to wash them 30 times and they’ll still be perfectly pressed, you know? Sta-Prest® was a big thing that Levi’s® started in 1964. It was a huge success with college students—this kind of crisp Ivy League look. It was also really big with the mods in the U.K. In certain subcultures today, Sta-Prest® trousers are really sought after.”

Levi's® HK

“WITHIN SECONDS, EVERYTHING SOUNDED AMAZING. IT WAS PRETTY MAGICAL FOR US TO HEAR.”

—PAUL O’NEILL, DESIGN DIRECTOR, LEVI’S® VINTAGE CLOTHING

Levi's® HK

THE CASTING

“Before Covid, we’d spend a week running around whatever city we were gonna shoot in to find the right people—we always use real people from the scene. When we shot a collection about 1920s boxers, we used amateur boxers, because if you put a model in a boxing ring, he doesn't look like a boxer. So you get a jazz musician to play a jazz musician.

For Blue Daze, we reached out to a small jazz venue in New York and got some contacts and things just spiraled. All of a sudden, we had a big network of up-and-coming jazz musicians. Normally, we'd be in New York meeting up with these guys—chatting with them and photographing them—but this time all the prep work was online.”

THE SHOOT

“We shot at a studio where pretty much all the iconic jazz records of the ’50s, ’60s and ’70s were recorded. At first, the long-time engineers were a bit skeptical and didn’t know what to expect. They were like, do we really want some fashion thing going on here? But when we turned up and the musicians started to improvise, they got really excited. It was inspiring.

One or two of the musicians had played together, but most of them had never met. Someone just started playing, and they all joined in. Within seconds, everything sounded amazing. They were all very experienced and could read off each other. It was pretty magical for us to hear.”

Levi’s® Vintage Clothing Blue Haze collection is now available at Levi’s® Silvercord store and on levi.com.hk.

Levi's® HK